Fung Hon Chu Endowed Chair of Humanics

Fung Hon Chu Endowed Chair
of Humanics
Professor John Nguyet Erni

In this increasingly complex world, we face many multi-faceted issues – environmental problems, digitalisation, human migration, to name a few. Tackling them requires intersecting forms of knowledge. The study of Humanics, or Humanities in the modern language, integrates a spectrum of disciplines ranging from philosophy, languages, history, arts, to literature. It can offer us important insights into current and future conditions, insights that are ever more needed in challenging times.

Professor John Nguyet Erni is a Chair Professor and Head of Department of Humanities & Creative Writing of HKBU. He pursued his studies in the U.S. and earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Whitworth University, Master of Arts degree in Film Studies from University of Oregon, and Doctorate degree specialising in Media & Cultural Studies from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Despite his tight teaching and research schedules, Professor Erni subsequently went to the law school of The University of Hong Kong to study international human rights law, earning a Master of Laws degree, with the aim of mastering the language of law so as to conduct research on social justice issues arising from intersecting legal, social, and political contexts.

Professor Erni’s diverse research interests are inspired by his close observations of his surroundings. He has published in the areas of international and Asia-based media and cultural studies, human rights philosophy and politics, gender studies, youth popular culture studies, and critical public health studies. His work has been highly praised by academics. In the past decade, one of his primary studies falls on ethnic minorities in Hong Kong, due in part to his multicultural upbringing – Professor Erni is a mixed Filipino-Vietnamese-Chinese having lived in Vietnam, the Philippines, Hong Kong and the U.S. In recent years, Professor Erni has also received a number of grants to study on issues related to human rights and cultural aspects. He is now leading several interdisciplinary cultural studies research projects in collaboration with renowned overseas institutes or universities. Professor Erni brings to his research a unique fusion of Western theories in cultural studies and local cultural experience in the Chinese context.

Rather than observing passively, Professor Erni has shown active community involvement. He has been a member of a number of civil society groups and given staunch support to many NGOs. He provides consultation to the media and speaks for the minorities. At present, he is also building an international platform to line up professionals in South Korea, Japan, Taiwan and Hong Kong to jointly work on international migrants’ rights issues.

Professor Erni is currently the President of Hong Kong Academy of the Humanities. He was a recipient of the Gustafson, Rockefeller and Annenberg Fellowships in 1997, 1999 and 2008 respectively. In 2006, he won the Top Paper Award for his paper “War, Incendiary Media, and International Human Rights Law,” at the 56th Annual Convention of the International Communication Association, Germany.

Fung Hon Chu Foundation
Dr. William K.L. Fung, SBS, OBE, JP 
Director of the Fung Hon Chu Foundation

“Amid a growing trend of globalisation, future leaders should be aware of how our world and history are made, and be committed to shaping our future from a global perspective. We wish that as the Endowed Chair of Humanics, Professor Erni can help broaden young people’s minds and vision, thereby nurturing the next generation of outstanding all-round leaders for our community.”

more details
Promoting Unity in Diversity

Promoting Unity in Diversity

Interview with Professor John Nguyet Erni

冯汉柱基金全人教育讲座教授

冯汉柱基金全人教育讲座教授

陈锦荣教授

置身于日益复杂的世界,各种问题纷至沓来──环境问题、数位化、移民问题等,不胜枚举。要处理这些错综复杂的全球议题,必须把多门知识融会贯通。人文学涵盖并整合不同的学术范畴,如哲学、语文、历史、艺术、文学,可让人对当下及未来局势有更深刻的见解,而这些见解在这个充满挑战的时代尤其重要。

陈锦荣教授现任香港浸会大学人文及创作系讲座教授兼系主任。陈教授在美国接受教育,先于惠特沃斯大学修读文学学士课程,主修英语,再于俄勒冈大学取得文学硕士(电影研究)学位,并于伊利诺大学厄巴纳香槟分校取得博士学位,专攻媒体与文化研究。在应付繁重的教研工作之余,陈教授于香港大学法律学院修毕法律硕士学位,并致力研习国际人权法,掌握法律语言,借此为其研究的社会公义议题提供法律、社会、政治三个不同范畴的观点。

陈教授的研究涉猎甚广,题材主要源自对社会的深入观察。其研究著作涉及多个领域,包括国际及亚洲媒体与文化研究、人权哲学及政治、性别研究、青少年流行文化、重要公共卫生议题等,备受学术界推崇。陈教授十年前开始从事少数族裔文化研究,与其成长背景不无关系──陈教授拥有菲律宾、越南和华裔血统,先后于越南、菲律宾、香港及美国等地居住,在多元文化的环境下成长。此外,陈教授近年也获得多项资助,进行与人权与文化相关的研究。他现正与国际知名机构和大学合作,带领多个跨学科文化研究项目。陈教授的研究糅合西方的文化研究理论及本地华人文化经验,深具学术价值。

陈教授并非被动的社会旁观者,而是积极服务社群的实践者。他是多个公民社会组织的成员,亦是许多非政府组织的支持者;他不时回应传媒的咨询,亦为社会上的小众发声。陈教授最近正积极建立一个国际平台,连系来自韩国、日本、台湾及香港的专家,就各地的移民、人权等议题进行研究。

陈教授现为香港人文学院主席。他于1997、1999和2008年分别获得Gustafson Fellowship、Rockefeller Fellowship及Annenberg Fellowship。 2006年,其论文War, Incendiary Media, and International Human Rights Law于著名国际组织International Communication Association第56届年度会议中发表,并获颁发「最佳论文奖」。

冯汉柱慈善基金
冯国纶博士,SBS,OBE,JP 
冯汉柱慈善基金董事

「全球化是大势所趋,未来的领袖必须确切了解世界及历史如何发展,然后再以宏观视野塑造未来。我们期盼陈锦荣教授出任冯汉柱基金全人教育讲座教授后,能扩阔年轻人的思维和视野,培育他们成为发展全面的新一代杰出领袖,贡献社会。」

更多详情
君子博学 和而不同

君子博学 和而不同

陈锦荣教授专访