Dr. Kennedy Y.H. Wong Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine

Dr. Kennedy Y.H. Wong Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine
Professor Lyu Aiping

Professor Lyu Aiping is Dean and Chair Professor of the School of Chinese Medicine, HKBU. He is also Chief Researcher of the China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences (CACMS). Admitted to Jiangxi University of Traditional Chinese Medicine at the age of 15, he was one of the youngest undergraduate students at the University. After earning his Bachelor’s degree in Chinese medicine, he went on to pursue research at the China Academy of Traditional Chinese Medicine (now CACMS) and obtained his Master’s degree and PhD there. In 2008, he won the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars from the National Natural Science Foundation of China. He served consecutively as Director of the Institute of Basic Theory of CACMS, Managing Director of the National Pharmaceutical Engineering Centre for Solid Preparations and Executive Deputy Director of the Institute of Basic Research in Clinical Medicine of CACMS. He joined HKBU in 2012 and was appointed the Dr. Kennedy Y.H. Wong Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine in the same year.

Professor Lyu’s research interests span from the clinical evaluation with RCT (randomised controlled trial) focusing on RA (rheumatoid arthritis) with Chinese medicine diagnosis to the standardisation of Chinese medicine diagnosis and new drug discovery. In accordance with the proposal made by Professor Lyu, the University established in 2012 the Law Sau Fai Institute for Advancing Translational Medicine in Bone and Joint Diseases and appointed Professor Lyu as Founding Director of the Institute. In 2015, his team developed a novel aptamer-functionalised delivery system that achieves osteoblast-specific delivery of drug molecules to promote bone formation. This new system has advanced the development of targeted therapies for osteoporosis. In 2017, his team pursued a space life science study conducted on board China’s first cargo spacecraft, Tianzhou-1, to investigate the effect of the CKIP-1 gene on bone formation under microgravity conditions in space. HKBU is the only university outside the Chinese Mainland to be invited to conduct a scientific research project on Tianzhou-1.

A leading figure in the standardisation of Chinese medicine, Professor Lyu was appointed Deputy Director of the Chinese Medicine Standardization Office under the State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine in 2011 before taking the helm of the Office in 2013. He has not only built a team for the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) to manage and support work on international standards for Chinese medicine. He has also led a team of experts to formulate three sets of national as well as ISO standards for Chinese medicine. Professor Lyu has served as Head and Spokesperson of the China delegation to plenary meetings of the ISO/TC249 since 2009 and is President-designate of the Good Practice in Traditional Chinese Medicine Research Association, formed under the auspices of the European Union.

An eminent scholar in the standardisation of Chinese medicine, Professor Lyu has won numerous prestigious honours, including the Li Shizhen Innovation Award (2015), the Award for Outstanding Contribution to Standardisation in China (2014) and the Award for Promoting Standardisation (2014), testifying to his untiring efforts in and contribution to new drug discovery and standardisation of Chinese medicine. He has published over 30 books and 500 articles, of which more than 260 were published in Science Citation Index (SCI) journals such as Nature Medicine. He has obtained more than 60 patents from his research. He is a member of the 11th and 12th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference as well as the 11th Beijing Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference.

Dr. Kennedy Y.H. Wong, BBS, JP
Dr. Kennedy Y.H. Wong, BBS, JP

“I am delighted that HKBU has appointed Professor Lyu Aiping, an experienced and distinguished scholar, as the Dr. Kennedy Y.H. Wong Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine. I wish that through its outstanding team and international platform, the School of Chinese Medicine will develop more quality drugs and therapies under the able leadership of Professor Lyu, thereby spreading them to the world for the benefit of humankind.”

more details

黃英豪博士中醫藥講座教授

黃英豪博士中醫藥講座教授
呂愛平教授

呂愛平教授現為香港浸會大學中醫藥學院院長及講座教授,中國中醫科學院首席研究員。呂教授15歲獲江西中醫學院錄取,是該校最年輕的本科生之一。呂教授取得中醫藥學士學位後加入中國中醫研究院 (中國中醫科學院前身)從事研究,並取得碩士及博士學位。2008年獲國家自然科學基金委員會頒發國家傑出青年科學基金。先後擔任中國中醫科學院基礎理論研究所所長、中藥固體製劑國家工程研究中心董事長和中國中醫科學院臨床基礎研究所常務副所長。呂教授於2012年加入浸大,同年獲大學委任為「黃英豪博士中醫藥講座教授」。

呂教授一直致力研究中醫藥治療自身免疫性疾病,如類風濕性關節炎、中醫診治標準化和新藥研發等。在呂教授的倡議下,大學於2012年成立「羅守輝骨與關節疾病轉化醫學研究所」並委任呂教授為所長。2015年,呂教授及其研究團隊成功研發了一種以適配子為靶向配體的新型成體細胞特異性遞送系統,能有效遞送中藥有效成分到靶細胞,促進骨的形成,推動了骨質疏鬆成骨靶向藥物的開發。2017年,其團隊的太空生命科學實驗於中國首艘貨運飛船「天舟一號」上進行,該研究項目研究在太空微重力環境中,「CKIP-1」基因對成骨細胞分化的影響。浸大是唯一獲選參與「天舟一號」科學實驗的大陸境外院校。

呂教授是國家中醫藥標準化領域之領軍人之一,於2011年起兼任國家中醫藥管理局中醫藥標準化工作辦公室常務副主任,並於2013年起擔任辦公室主任。他不僅組建了國際標準組織 (ISO) 中醫藥國際標準的管理服務團隊,還領導專家小組制訂了三項中醫藥領域的國家標準和ISO國際標準。呂教授自2009年起獲委為出席國際標準化組織轄下的中醫藥標準化技術委員會 (ISO/TC249) 全體大會的中國代表團團長兼發言人,亦為歐盟組織中醫藥規範研究學會的候任主席。

作為知名中醫藥標準化學者的呂教授屢獲殊榮,包括2015年的「李時珍醫藥創新奬」、2014年的「中國標準突出貢獻奬」及「標準化十佳推動者奬」等,足證其對新藥研發及推動中醫藥標準化的不懈努力及傑出貢獻。呂教授著有30多本學術著作,發表500餘篇研究論文,當中逾260篇刊於科學引文索引 (SCI) 國際期刊如《自然─醫學》,並擁有逾60項專利。呂教授為全國政協第十一、十二屆委員,以及北京市政協第十一屆委員。

黃英豪博士,BBS,JP
黃英豪博士,BBS,JP

「我很高興黃英豪博士中醫藥講座教授席由呂愛平教授這位經驗豐富的卓越學者出任,誠盼浸大中醫藥學院憑藉其優秀人才和國際化發展的平台,並在呂教授的超卓領導下,研發出更多有質素的中醫藥產品及療法,進而把它們帶往全世界,造福人類。」

更多詳情