Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law Endowed Chair of Advanced Materials

Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law Endowed
Chair of Advanced Materials
Professor Cheah Kok Wai

Advanced materials can bring about subtle but profound changes to our lives. These materials, previously not available, are specially created or engineered to be superior and more efficient than existing materials, and to be used in areas where they could not previously be applied. Advanced materials are significant for humankind as they can meet the newly arising needs in today’s ever-changing world.

Professor Cheah Kok Wai joined the Department of Physics, HKBU, in 1990 and has been Chair Professor since 2010. He obtained his Bachelor of Science (Honour) degree in Physics, then Master of Science degree in Science of Materials, and Doctor of Philosophy degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Imperial College, London. Professor Cheah is one of the few academics who have solid industry exposure. After receiving his doctoral degree, he spent 10 years in UK industry, including 8 years in Astrium Space, working on projects including meteorological satellites and the International Space Station.

Among his most notable works is the invention of ArmoGlass, a thin sapphire film that is ultra-hard, non-fragile, light and easy to process, therefore perfect for producing ultra-hard anti-scratch covers for touch screen devices. As a result of creating this revolutionary product, Professor Cheah received HK$2 million from the HKSAR Government via the Innovation and Technology Commission (ITC) to start up a company, Cathay Photonics Limited, to facilitate knowledge transfer to the community. In 2016 at the 44th International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva, the world’s largest event of its kind, ArmoGlass stood out from 1,000 projects from 40 countries and won the Grand Prix Award.

Due to his diverse academic and industry background, Professor Cheah’s research focuses naturally on advanced materials, in which his broad interdisciplinary knowledge is fully applied. His research interests include linear and non-linear optical properties of organic complexes, plasmonic nano-structures, organic and inorganic phosphors and organic electronics. In his early days at HKBU, Professor Cheah conducted research on the luminescence property of porous silicon, and based on this work the silicon-based ultra-violet light emitting diode was developed. These ground-breaking discoveries led not only to a number of publications but also three US patents, one of which being the first patent for an HKBU staff member. By June 2017, Professor Cheah possessed 12 US patents, 2 Chinese patents and 1 patent under the Patent Cooperation Treaty. Over the years, Professor Cheah’s distinguished scholarly work has secured over 45 grants from the Research Grants Council, the ITC, the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the Croucher Foundation, HKBU Honorary Fellow Mr Allan Kwong and from industry.

Professor Cheah is the founder and Director of the Institute of Advanced Materials at HKBU. A prolific scholar, Professor Cheah has presented or published more than 290 papers at international conferences and in top-tier journals. The strong impact of his publications is evidenced by his exceptionally high citation count on Google Scholar of over 7,800. He became a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, UK, in 2013.

Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law, MH
Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law, MH

“With new technology arising every day, we need to keep on acquiring new knowledge to meet our society’s needs. Social progress and education are interrelated. Being an entrepreneur, I wish I can help nurture our future generations. I hope the establishment of this Endowed Chair of Advanced Materials can help promote advanced research and contribute to the well-being of our society, our country and humankind.”

more details
A Passionate and Creative Scientist

A Passionate and Creative Scientist

Interview with Professor Cheah Kok Wai

罗嘉穗博士先进材料研究讲座教授

罗嘉穗博士先进材料研究讲座教授
谢国伟教授

先进材料能为人类的生活带来微妙却深远的改变。先进材料是指由科学家特别创造或加以改造的材料,不但比过往沿用的材料更佳、更有效率,而且能应用于一些崭新的领域,满足现今瞬息万变的社会人类层出不穷的新需要。

谢国伟教授于1990年加入香港浸会大学物理系,2010年成为该系讲座教授。谢教授在伦敦帝国学院获得物理学荣誉理学士学位、材料科学硕士学位及电机与电子工程博士学位。谢教授是少数同时具备学术及业界背景的学者。博士毕业后十年间,他留在英国从事科研工作,例如在英国航天公司Astrium Space工作八年,主要负责气象卫星、国际太空站等与卫星相关项目。

在谢教授芸芸发明中,其中一项最瞩目的便是「铁甲玻璃」。 「铁甲玻璃」是一层蓝宝石薄膜,质地坚硬、不易碎、轻巧且容易加工,其超硬抗刮强韧的特性最适合用来制作智能电话、平板电脑等的轻触显示屏。凭着这项革命性的发明,谢教授获香港特区政府创新科技署拨款二百万港元,成立国泰光电有限公司,以促进知识转移,造福社会。于2016年「第44届日内瓦国际发明展」这项全球最大型发明比赛上,该发明力压来自40个国家共1,000个参与项目,夺得全场最高荣誉大奖、工业制作组金奖和特别优异奖。

先进材料的研究涉及多个学科的广泛知识,与拥有多元学术背景和资深产业经验的谢教授可谓相互契合。谢教授的研究领域包括有机聚合物和等离子纳米结构材料中线性和非线性的光学性质、有机和无机磷光材料,以及有机电子材料。谢教授初加入浸大时便对多孔矽的发光特性进行研究,从而研发出矽基紫外发光二极体。这项创新的发明不单让谢教授发表了一系列论文,亦为他带来了三项专利,其中一个更是浸大的首个专利。截至2017年6月止,谢教授拥有12项美国专利、2项中国专利及1项按专利合作条约申请及审批的专利。谢教授学术成就卓著,多年来成功取得45项研究拨款,包括大学教育资助委员会研究资助局、创新科技署、国家自然科学基金委员会、裘槎基金会、浸大荣誉院士邝庆泉先生及其他业界资助等。

谢教授是香港浸会大学先进材料研究所的创办人及所长。谢教授著作甚丰,在国际学术会议及国际权威期刊发表超过290篇演讲及论文,其研究对学术界甚具影响力,单是根据谷歌学术搜寻,他的著作已被引用逾7,800次。 2013年,谢教授获选为英国物理学会院士。

罗嘉穗博士,MH
罗嘉穗博士,MH 

「在现今科技日新月异的时代,我们需要不断吸收新知识来应付社会需求。身为企业家,我希望为培育下一代出一点力,因我深信社会的进步和发展与教育互相紧扣。我期望透过成立先进材料研究讲座教授席,进一步推动前沿研究,为社会、国家、以至人类的福祉作出贡献。」

更多详情
醉心科研 貢獻社羣

醉心科研 贡献社群

谢国伟教授专访