Tsang Shiu Tim Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine Clinical Studies

Tsang Shiu Tim Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine Clinical Studies
Professor Bian Zhaoxiang

Traditional Chinese Medicine, one of the world’s oldest medical systems, plays an increasingly important role in the healthcare of China and its impact is also spreading worldwide. Integrating the wisdom of Traditional Chinese Medicine into the present healthcare system is a new trend with a momentum growing from East to West.

Professor Bian Zhaoxiang, a leading expert in Chinese medicine clinical studies, is Associate Vice-President (Chinese Medicine Development), Director and Chair Professor of the Clinical Division, the School of Chinese Medicine of HKBU. He received his Bachelor (Chinese medicine) and Master (Chinese medicine) of Philosophy degrees in Traditional Chinese Medicine from Nanjing University of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Beijing University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and his Doctorate degree (Integrative medicine) at Guangzhou University of Traditional Chinese Medicine. He joined HKBU in 2001.

Professor Bian has made a seminal contribution to the research of Chinese medicine in gastrointestinal (GI) diseases, which have become increasingly common, such as colorectal cancer, irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), chronic constipation, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), and so on. Although Western medicine has provided cures for these diseases, patients are constantly afflicted by the side effects that accompany treatment. Therefore, more and more patients are turning to Chinese medicine, which not only has proven effectiveness but also has fewer side effects.

In 2016, his team found that a natural compound, “Pd-Ib”, extracted from the Chinese herbs Bupleurum malconense could effectively alleviate acute ulcerative colitis. The research team was granted a US patent and expected to develop “Pd-Ib” into a new drug. In the same year, HKBU entered into a cooperation agreement with The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) and PuraPharm Corporation Ltd to develop new drugs for treating IBS. This collaboration was founded on a pioneer project between Professor Bian’s research team and the Faculty of Medicine of CUHK that had been treating IBS with Chinese medicine since 2002. In the past decade Professor Bian has also led an international group of experts to work on standardised reporting guidelines for Chinese medicine clinical trials. In 2017, the group published a recommendation for reporting clinical trials with Chinese medical formulas in the internationally renowned Annals of Internal Medicine, the goal being that the guidelines will lift the quality of reporting and therefore enhance the global influence of Chinese medicine.

The impact of Professor Bian’s research is also evident in his ever-growing list of patents, awards and published papers. By June 2017, Professor Bian possessed 52 patents. He has presented over 300 papers in journals, books and conferences, and received a host of national accolades including second prize in the National Science and Technology Advancement Award of China.

Realising the imperative need for conducting Chinese medicine clinical studies, Professor Bian initiated the establishment, and later became Director, of the Hong Kong Chinese Medicine Clinical Study Centre, the first and only centre focusing on Chinese medicine clinical trials in the territory. He oversees the operation of 16 Chinese medicine clinics and the establishment of the “Hong Kong Baptist University – Jockey Club Chinese Medicine Disease Prevention and Health Management Centre”, amongst other initiatives. He has been a long-term advocate for the establishment of a Chinese medicine hospital in Hong Kong.

 

Tsang Shiu Tim Charitable Foundation
Mr. Tsang Shiu Tim
Tsang Shiu Tim Charitable Foundation

“Traditional Chinese Medicine is one of our national treasures. Today, Chinese medicine demonstrates significant therapeutic effects on a variety of illnesses, including some that cannot be completely cured by Western medicine. We hope that through the Endowed Chair of Chinese Medicine Clinical Studies, more Chinese medicine talents can be nurtured and more scientific evidence on the efficacy of Chinese medicine can be found. Also, we envisage that more new drugs can be developed based upon Chinese medicine to enhance public health.”

more details
Advancing the internationalisation of Chinese Medicine

Advancing the internationalisation of Chinese Medicine

Interview with Professor Bian Zhaoxiang

曾肇添中醫藥臨床研究講座教授

曾肇添中醫藥臨床研究講座教授
卞兆祥教授

傳統中醫藥學是世界上最古老的醫療系統之一。時至今日,中醫藥學不但在中國的醫療保健體系扮演着愈顯重要的角色,其對世界各地的影響力也與日俱增。將傳統中醫藥學的智慧融入現代醫療衛生保健體系,已成為從東方席捲到西方的新趨勢。

卞兆祥教授為研究中醫藥治療胃腸病的專家,現任香港浸會大學協理副校長(中醫藥發展)、中醫藥學院臨床部主任及講座教授。卞教授在南京中醫藥大學取得中醫學學士學位後,於北京中醫藥大學攻讀中醫學碩士學位,然後再於廣州中醫藥大學獲醫學博士(結合醫學)學位。卞教授於2001年加入浸大。

卞教授對中醫藥治療胃腸病的臨床研究作出了不少開拓性的貢獻。胃腸病愈趨普遍,常見的例子包括大腸癌、腸易激綜合症、慢性便秘、炎症性腸病等。儘管現時西方醫學已有針對這些疾病的治療方法,但患者卻往往要承受伴隨而來的種種副作用。因此,越來越多病人轉向中藥治療,因中醫藥既有實證療效,且副作用輕微。

2016年,卞教授的團隊發現中藥材「馬爾康柴胡」內所含的一種名為「Pd-Ib」天然化合物,能顯著緩解潰瘍性結腸炎所引起的身體不適。研究團隊已獲得美國專利局授予專利,計劃把該天然化合物開發成新藥。同年,浸大與香港中文大學和培力控股簽署合作協議,合力研發治療功能性腸胃病的新藥,這項合作建基於卞教授的研究團隊與中大醫學院始於2002年的全港首個中西醫結合協作研究。過去十年,卞教授亦與來自中國內地、英國、加拿大的工作小組合作,致力建立一套專為複方中醫藥而設的臨床報告指引。小組最近在國際知名期刊《內科醫學年鑑》發表了「中藥複方臨床隨機對照試驗報告規範」,期望能透過該規範提高中醫藥臨床報告的質量,並擴展中醫藥的國際影響力。

卞教授的研究影響力亦見於他不斷增長的專利、奬項及論文數量。截至2017年6月,卞教授擁有52項專利,於學術期刊、著作、會議上發表逾300篇論文,曾獲國家科技進步二等獎等多個科研奬項。

臨床研究對推動中醫藥標準化及國際化至為關鍵,因此卞教授牽頭成立香港第一所,也是唯一一所香港中醫藥臨床研究中心,並擔當該中心的主任。卞教授亦負責督導中醫藥學院開設的16家中醫藥診所,以及剛成立的「香港浸會大學─賽馬會中醫疾病預防與健康管理中心」。此外,卞教授一直積極提倡在香港成立一所中醫醫院,以推動中醫藥業界的發展。

 

曾肇添慈善基金
曾肇添先生
曾肇添慈善基金

「傳統中醫藥為中華文化的精粹。時至今日,中醫藥對多種疾病,甚至是一些西方醫學未能根治的頑疾具有顯著療效。我們希望透過此中醫藥臨床研究講座教授席,培育優秀的中醫人才,進一步為中醫藥提供科學實證,並研發更多新藥,改善市民健康。」

更多詳情
促進中醫藥國際化

促進中醫藥國際化

卞兆祥教授專訪