Cheung On Tak Endowed Professor in Chinese Medicine

Cheung On Tak Endowed Professor in Chinese Medicine
Professor Jia Wei

Professor Jia Wei is currently Chair Professor in Chinese Medicine and Systems Biology of the School of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist University. He is also Director of the School's Hong Kong Traditional Chinese Medicine Phenome Research Centre. Professor Jia pursued his postgraduate studies in the U.S. and obtained his Master and Doctorate degrees in Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of Missouri. At the same time, he received his professional training at the University of Missouri Research Reactor Centre.

Professor Jia has 27 years of experience as a scientist in the medical field with a proven track record of building and operating highly successful interdisciplinary research programmes, such as translational research centres, clinical -omics platforms, and botanical-based drug development laboratories in collegiate and industrial settings. Soon after his graduation, Professor Jia worked as the Radiopharmaceutical Scientist and Director (Technology Development) at BEST Medical International. He then returned to Mainland China, assuming positions of Professor and Executive Vice Dean of the College of Pharmaceutical Science and Biotechnology at Tianjin University; and then Professor and Vice Dean for Research of the School of Pharmacy at the Shanghai Jiao Tong University. Ten years later, he once again relocated to the U.S. and pursued his academic career there. From 2008 to 2013, he was a tenured Professor at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and founding Director of the University's Center for Translational Biomedical Research. Prior to joining HKBU in 2019, Professor Jia was a tenured Professor at the University of Hawaii at Manoa and Associate Director of the University of Hawaii Cancer Centre (a US National Cancer Institute-designated cancer centre).

With a research interest in the areas of metabolomics and biomarker discovery, Professor Jia's work focuses on microbial metabolomics and host-gut microbe metabolic interactions that underlie the development of gastrointestinal diseases and metabolic disorders and the treatment of these conditions using small-molecule drugs and traditional Chinese medicines. Professor Jia and his team currently operate a world-class metabolomics laboratory that quantitatively determines endogenous small-molecule metabolites and trace elements, thereby supporting translational research in cancer biology, drug discovery and traditional Chinese medicine. Under his leadership, his laboratory has developed a number of impactful metabolomics technologies and protocols over the past 17 years. In 2016, his team received second prize of the Natural Science Award from the Shanghai Municipal Government with its research on host-gut microbe metabolic interactions. By December 2019, Professor Jia possessed over 10 international and Chinese patents. His distinguished scholarship has secured more than 20 grants in support of his research projects.

As one of the world's leading figures in metabolism and translational research, Professor Jia is the author of six books and more than 300 scientific papers, some of which were selected as features in globally recognised scientific journals such as Nature. The strong influence of his publications is evidenced by his exceptionally high citation count on Google Scholar of over 21,000. He has been frequently invited to speak at significant international conferences and symposiums around the world. As well as serving on the editorial boards of prominent scientific journals including Molecular Phenomics, Nutrition & Metabolism and World Journal of Gastroenterology, he is an ad hoc reviewer for 16 internationally renowned academic journals including Nature, Cell, etc.

Cheung On Tak Charity Foundation
Mr. Cheung On Tak
Cheung On Tak Charity Foundation

“Chinese medicine has been used for several thousand years in the prevention and treatment of illnesses, making a significant contribution to public health and the world’s medical science. It is still widely practised in the modern world and sheds light on diseases that are difficult to cure at present. Through the establishment of this endowed professorship, it is hoped that more innovative and significant research related to Chinese medicine can be conducted at HKBU. I believe the integration of this ancient wisdom with modern medical science will create notable benefits for humanity.”

more details
Gateway for Chinese Medicine to Modern Science

Gateway for Chinese Medicine to Modern Science

Interview with Professor Jia Wei

张安德中医药教授

张安德中医药教授
贾伟教授

贾伟教授现为香港浸会大学中医药学院中医系统生物学讲座教授,以及中医药学院香港中医药表型组学研究中心主任。贾教授于美国密苏里大学先后取得放射药学硕士及博士学位,同时于该大学的原子能研究所放射药物部接受专业训练。

贾教授于医药领域多有建树,27年来于学界及业界筹建并进行了众多跨学科研究项目,包括创立多个转化医学研究中心、临床多组学研究平台、中药与天然药物和技术研发机构,成果丰硕。取得博士学位后,贾教授担任美国BEST国际医学公司资深科学家及技术和商业发展部主管,然后回到中国内地,先后出任天津大学药物科学与技术学院教授兼常务副院长,以及上海交通大学药学院教授兼分管科研的副院长。十年后,贾教授重返美国的学术界发展。2008至2013年间,他担任过美国北卡罗来纳大学格林斯波罗分校终身教授,又创办了生物医学转化研究中心并身兼该中心的主任。2019年加入浸大之前,贾教授是美国夏威夷大学马诺阿分校终身教授,以及夏威夷大学癌症研究中心(美国国立癌症研究所指定癌症中心之一)副主任。

贾伟教授的研究涉及代谢组学及生物标记物的发现,目前的研究聚焦于微生物代谢组、消化道和代谢性疾病相关的宿主-肠道微生物的共代谢与相互作用,以及应用小分子药物和传统中药针对代谢性疾病进行干预的研究。贾教授及其团队建立了一个国际水平的代谢组学实验室,定量检测内源小分子代谢物和微量元素,为癌症生物学、药物开发和传统中医药的转化医学研究提供技术支持。在他的领导下,实验室于过去17年间研发出不少与代谢学相关的新技术和新方法。2016年,贾教授及其团队以题为「肠道菌群和宿主代谢物组分析平台的构建及在肾毒性研究中的应用」的研究项目,于「上海市科学技术奖励大会」获颁自然科学奬二等奬。截至2019年12月止,贾教授拥有超过10项国际专利及中国专利,其卓越的学术成就亦为他取得逾20项研究拨款。

作为代谢组学及转化医学的国际权威,贾教授出版了6本着作,并发表了超过300篇学术论文,部分更获国际最有名望的科学期刊如《自然》等专题评述。贾教授的研究对学术界甚具影响力,根据谷歌学术搜寻,其著作已被引用逾21,000次,他亦经常获邀于国际学术会议上发表演说。贾教授是多份知名科学期刊的编委,如《分子表型组学》、《营养与代谢》及《世界胃肠病学杂志》等,亦会不定期为《自然》、《细胞》等16份著名学术期刊担任审稿。

张安德慈善基金
張安德院士
張安德慈善基金

「中医药学在防治疾病上有着数千年历史,对公共健康和世界医疗科学作出重大贡献,甚至可为部分现代医学无法根治的疾病提供希望和曙光。我希望透过成立此中医药教授席,襄助浸大进行更多与中医药相关的创新研究,把中医药这传统智慧结合现代医学,造福人类。」

更多详情