Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law, MH

fsDr. Elizabeth K.S. Law, MH
Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law, MH

“With new technology arising every day, we need to keep on acquiring new knowledge to meet our society’s needs. Social progress and education are interrelated. Being an entrepreneur, I wish I can help nurture our future generations. I hope the establishment of this Endowed Professorship in Advanced Materials can help promote advanced research and contribute to the well-being of our society, our country and humankind.”

Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law Endowed Professorship in Advanced Materials –  
endowed by Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law


Dr. Elizabeth K.S. Law, MH, Chairman of Park Hotel Property Management Limited, is an entrepreneur with a caring heart. She has made outstanding achievements in the fields of textiles, garments, hotel management, and realty investment and development. Her leadership is not confined to the commercial field, but is also amply manifested in community service and pro bono activities. Over the past decades, Dr. Law has spared no effort in applying herself to charitable undertakings. With great compassion, she chairs her family’s Charitable Foundation, and toils away at many local and overseas philanthropic activities. She is especially devoted to educational causes as she consistently subscribes to the view that education is essential to the strengthening of a nation and that education has a profound and lasting influence on society. Through the Law’s Charitable Foundation, Dr. Law has made many donations, both in Hong Kong and elsewhere, to build schools, improve campus facilities, establish scholarships and support student exchange programmes, all of which have benefitted a large number of students around the world.

True to the spirit of giving being more blessed than receiving, Dr. Law is grateful for being endowed with abilities as well as opportunities to help others. Besides giving financial support, she has served successively on the Board of the Yan Chai Hospital as Director and Chairman, and is currently Vice-Chairman of the Hospital’s Advisory Board and Honorary Trustee of Peking University. In 2001, Dr. Law founded the Windshield Charitable Foundation to render assistance to disadvantaged groups in Hong Kong and the Mainland. In recognition of her significant contributions to the community, Dr. Law was awarded the Medal of Honour by the HKSAR Government in 2009.

Sharing HKBU’s ethos and holistic concept of education, Dr. Law has given tremendous support to a variety of University initiatives including the establishment of the Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology Development Fund and the Mainland Students Scholarship Fund. She is currently a member of the Board of Governors and the Entrepreneur Committee of the HKBU Foundation. Dr. Law wishes that through the establishment of this Endowed Professorship, the University will strengthen its research capacity and that its research on advanced materials will reach greater heights in the international arena.

羅嘉穗博士,MH

fs羅嘉穗博士,MH
羅嘉穗博士,MH 

「在現今科技日新月異的時代,我們需要不斷吸收新知識來應付社會需求。身為企業家,我希望為培育下一代出一點力,因我深信社會的進步和發展與教育互相緊扣。我期望透過成立先進材料研究教授席,進一步推動前沿研究,為社會、國家、以至人類的福祉作出貢獻。」

羅嘉穗博士先進材料研究教授席
羅嘉穗博士捐資


羅嘉穗博士,MH,百樂酒店物業管理有限公司主席,是一位樂善好施的企業家。羅博士在紡織業、服裝業、酒店管理及房地產投資和發展等方面成就斐然。她的領導才能不僅體現在商業領域,也體現在社區服務和公益事業上。過去數十年間,羅博士投身慈善事業不遺餘力,她統籌家族慈善事務,長年奔波海內外,積極推動公益項目,尤其支持教育工作,深信教育可以興國。透過家族慈善基金,她多次捐款在海內外興建學校,並促進校園建設,設立奬助學金,推行學生交流計劃等,惠及香港、中國內地以至世界各地的莘莘學子。

羅博士秉持「施比受更有福」的信念,認為有能力和機會去幫助別人是一種福報。她曾擔任仁濟醫院董事局總理及主席,現任仁濟醫院顧問局副主席及北京大學榮譽校董,並不時慷慨捐資。她又於2001年創辦宏施慈善基金,幫助香港和內地的弱勢社群。2009年,羅博士獲香港特別行政區政府頒授榮譽勳章,以表彰她對社會的貢獻。

羅博士認同浸大全人教育的理念,曾捐資支持大學多項發展包括饒宗頤國學院和內地生獎學金,並出任香港浸會大學基金董事局成員及企業家委員會委員等。她希望透過成立先進材料研究教授席,協助提升浸大的科研實力,令大學的先進材料研究在國際領域再創佳績。