Vincent V.C. Woo Endowed Associate Professor in Chinese Medicine

Vincent V.C. Woo Endowed Associate Professor in Chinese Medicine
Dr. Han Quanbin
Appointed in 2020

Dr. Han Quanbin is currently Associate Professor of the School of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU). Dr. Han received his Bachelor (Chinese medicine) and Master (Medicinal Chemistry) of Science degrees from the Henan University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and his Doctorate (Natural Product Chemistry) at the Kunming Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences. He joined HKBU in 2011.

Dr. Han is an expert in natural product chemistry, quality analysis of herb medicines and natural polysaccharides. He conducted a series of phytochemical investigations into Garcinia plants and carried out research into the quality control of Chinese medicines. His current research interests focus on the chemistry, quality control methodology and bioactivities of polysaccharides in Chinese medicines.

Among Dr. Han's eminent research works is the development of a novel method to authenticate Tiepi Shihu, a rare and expensive Chinese herb. In the past, the industry has relied on experts, DNA bar-coding or microscopic identification to differentiate Tiepi Shihu from other species. However, these methods are relatively costly and cannot determine the content of active substances. After much study, Dr. Han and his team identified a unique polysaccharide in the herb that can serve as a marker to distinguish Tiepi Shihu quickly and effectively. This invention has won Dr. Han and his team a number of awards, including a silver medal at the Hong Kong Innovative Invention Award in 2017 presented by the Hong Kong Federation of Innovative Technologies and Manufacturing Industries, and a gold medal at the First Asia Exhibition of Inventions Hong Kong in 2018. The innovation has been chosen by the China Association of Chinese Medicine for inclusion in its 2019 Compilation of Outstanding Research Achievements by Young Scholars of Chinese Medicine.

With this patented technology and financial support from the HKSAR Government’s Technology Start-up Support Scheme for Universities, Dr. Han founded the Hong Kong Authentication Centre of Dendrobii Officinalis Caulis to offer innovative, cost-effective authentication technologies and services to the Chinese medicine industry. In 2020, Dr. Han and his team developed a novel rapid testing method for another precious Chinese herb, Cordyceps sinensis. The technique not only shows a significant cost advantage but also has an accuracy comparable to the traditional genetic identification method. It has been licensed to a technology-based start-up company for commercial application.

In 2015, Dr. Han helped the School of Chinese Medicine launch Hong Kong’s first-ever bilingual Phytochemical Images Database. Apart from providing information on bioactive compounds found in medicinal herbs, the Database introduces methods of qualitative/quantitative analysis and sample preparation as well as real spectra of NMR/MS/IR. The Database enables teachers, students, researchers and professionals in the field as well as people throughout the world to acquire professional knowledge of Chinese medicine online.

As of December 2019, Dr. Han has gained 13 patents and secured 17 external research grants. He has published more than 200 scientific papers, including in renowned academic journals such as Natural Product Reports, Current Medicinal Chemistry, Organic Letter, Journal of Chromatography A, and Journal of Natural Products. He serves on the editorial boards of several scientific journals including Molecules, PLoS One, and Modern Chemotherapy. He also serves as a member of the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong, and as a panel member of the Hong Kong Council for Testing and Certification.

Vincent and Lily Woo Foundation

Mr. Vincent Woo and Mrs. Lily Woo


Ms. Alice Woo
Chair of the Vincent and Lily Woo Foundation


“Since its founding in 1999, HKBU's School of Chinese Medicine has been developing various platforms to conduct innovative research, engaging experts in the testing, authentication and standardisation of Chinese medicine, contributing to the improvement of public health and the well-being of mankind. I hope this first-ever associate professorship endowment at HKBU and the continuous support from our Foundation will help advance the development and internationalisation of Chinese medicine, to elevate its status in modern medicine.”

more details

吴文政中医药副教授

吴文政中医药副教授
韩全斌博士

韩全斌博士现为香港浸会大学中医药学院副教授。韩博士在河南中医药大学先后取得中医学学士学位及药物化学硕士学位,然后再于中国科学院昆明植物研究所获得植物化学博士学位。韩博士于2011年加入浸大。

韩博士是天然药物化学、中药质量分析及中药多糖研究专家,曾完成冬凌草、藤黄等药用植物化学成分的系统研究,以及多项中药品质控制的研究课题,目前的主要研究兴趣为中药多糖的化学、质控及生物活性研究。

名贵中药「铁皮石斛」的质量检定技术是韩博士其中一项最重要的研究。以往,业界主要依赖专家的经验,或通过基因鉴定、显微鉴定等方法来鉴别真伪,然而这些方法的成本相对较高,而且未能确定活性物质的含量。经过一连串成分对比研究,韩博士及其团队从铁皮石斛中识别出一种独特的多糖成分,作为鉴定铁皮石斛的标志成分,从而快速、有效地识别铁皮石斛样本。这项发明为韩博士及团队带来多个奬项,包括第七届香港创新科技成就大奖2017「香港创新发明奖」银奖,以及2018年「第一届亚洲发明展览会──香港」金奬,更获中华中医药学会将此研究成果纳入《2019年中医药优秀青年学者科技成果汇编》。

凭借这个专利技术及香港创新科技署「大学科技初创企业资助计划」资助,韩博士成立了香港铁皮石斛检定中心,为中药业界提供创新、符合成本效益的专业鉴定服务。2020年,韩博士及团队又成功研发另一种名贵中药「冬虫夏草」的快速测试,不但大幅降低检测成本,其准确度更媲美基因鉴定方法。一所科技初创公司已获得授权,把这种鉴定方法转化为商业应用。

2015年,韩博士协助浸大中医药学院推出全港首个双语「中草药化学图像数据库」,数据库除了胪列常见中草药的生物活性成分,也介绍化合物的定性/定量分析和制备方法,以及有关核磁共振等原始光谱图,方便中医药师生、科研人员、业界人士,以至世界各地不同人士于网上查阅和学习专业的中医药知识。

截至2019年12月止,韩博士拥有13项专利,其出色的研究表现亦为他取得逾17项校外研究拨款;已发表的学术论文逾200篇,并刊登于知名科学期刊如《Natural Product Reports》、《Current Medicinal Chemistry》、《Organic Letter》、《Journal of Chromatography A》、《Journal of Natural Products》等。他也是学术期刊《Molecules》、《PLoS One》及《Modern Chemotherapy》的编委。韩博士是香港中医药管理委员会及香港检测和认证局的专家小组成员。

吴文政王月娥基金会

吴文政先生及王月娥女士


吴南燕女士
吴文政王月娥基金会主席


「浸大中医药学院自1999年成立以来,锐意成立不同的平台从事创新研究,其专家学者也积极参与中药的检测、认证以及标准化,致力为人类的健康和公共卫生作出贡献。我期盼通过浸大首个中医药副教授席的设立及本基金会的持续支持,从而促进学院中医药研究的发展及国际化,并进一步提升其在现代医学界的地位。」

更多详情
创新鉴定 弘扬中药

创新鉴定 弘扬中药

韩全斌博士专访