Dr. Hung Yeung Pong Wah Endowed Professor in Film and Television

Dr. Hung Yeung Pong Wah Endowed Professor in Film and Television
Professor Man Shu Sum

Professor Man Shu Sum is currently Associate Director of the Academy of Film, School of Communication, Hong Kong Baptist University. An all-round veteran of Asia's media industry, Professor Man is one of the most experienced teaching staff at the Academy of Film, with rich experience in areas ranging from media content creation, radio broadcasting and TV channel management to film investment, production and distribution.

After graduating from the Department of Communication of the Hong Kong Baptist College, Professor Man worked at Ming Pao's evening newspaper as a journalist and then at Television Broadcast Limited as a programme researcher. In the 1980s, Professor Man was recruited by the Government of Singapore and pursued his career at the Singapore Broadcasting Corporation. He became one of the pioneers in building Singapore's media landscape and eco-system, helping the nation to create soft power through film and television. His main duty was to oversee the Corporation's multicultural entertainment production arms, to groom local television creative talents and to manage its satellite television channel in Taiwan. In 2000, Professor Man became Chief Operating Officer of MediaWorks Singapore. He spearheaded the launch of two brand new free-to-air television channels, which won Asia Broadcaster of the Year and Asia Terrestrial Channel of the Year titles in the Asian Television Awards in 2002. In 2005, he joined Singapore's Media Development Authority as Director of Broadcast and Film. Other than promoting the film and television industry locally and internationally, he was responsible for supervising public-service funding for TV productions as well as launching and driving the creation of high-definition content in Singapore's nationwide high-definition TV trial. In 2007, he worked for Hollywood Mark Burnett Productions as Chief Executive Officer for its Asian operation. Two years later, he joined MediaCorp Raintree Pictures as Managing Director to produce and invest in films made in Singapore, Malaysia, Hong Kong and Mainland China. In 2014, Professor Man began to teach at HKBU.

With his 40 years of solid experience in the industry, Professor Man has significantly enhanced both the software and hardware of the Academy of Film. In terms of software, he has enriched the content of courses related to media management, TV programming and broadcast policy by bringing in his vast first-hand knowledge and experience. He has also developed novel courses such as the Creation of Non-scripted Reality Shows as well as Linear and Non-linear Storytelling. Furthermore, Professor Man established the unprecedented studio i as a start-up initiative connecting with the University and the industry to jointly invest in film production. Students are therefore mentored by film professionals and provided with opportunities to participate in commercially released film making projects. Regarding hardware, Professor Man also initiated the setting up of a Dolby Atmos Sound Studio, the first of its kind in the Asian tertiary education sector, helping students to elevate the quality of their creation with sophisticated sound design. In 2018, the Academy of Film launched the first Global University Film Awards (GUFA). With Professor Man’s years of connections and experience in advising regional media events and festivals, the event was a great success, attracting more than 1,800 submissions from nearly 100 countries and regions.

Professor Man has been frequently invited to speak at international seminars. He also sits on regional film-related advisory boards. He is currently a Member of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council Entertainment Industry Advisory Committee and Member of the Singapore Film Commission Advisory Board. He was also Member of the Singapore Media Festival Advisory Board from 2013 to 2019 and Chief of Jury of the Asia Television Awards from 2006 to 2016. In 2007, he was selected as one of the Top 50 Asia Film Leaders by the prestigious American entertainment trade magazine Variety.

Hung Hin Shiu Charitable Foundation Limited
Dr. Hung Yeung Pong Wah
Hung Hin Shiu Charitable Foundation Limited

“Film and Television are much more than just entertainment. They are an art form that simulates experience to communicate ideas and beauty, as well as a cultural artefact that records the culture of their creators. Hong Kong is considered as being among the major global film and television content exporters and has one of the world's largest and most dynamic film and television industries. We wish that the establishment of this endowed professorship can help HKBU's Academy of Film nurture more future talents, thereby bringing fresh blood to the industry.”

more details
Connecting People with Storytelling

Connecting People with Storytelling

Interview with Professor Man Shu Sum

孔楊邦鏵博士電影電視教授

孔楊邦鏵博士電影電視教授
文樹森教授

文樹森教授現為香港浸會大學傳理學院電影學院副總監。文教授為亞洲媒體界的全方位資深工作者,範疇涉獵內容創作、電台廣播、電視頻道經營,以及電影投資、製作與發行等,是浸大電影學院其中一位經驗最豐富的教學人員。

文教授畢業於香港浸會書院傳理系,早年曾在《明報晚報》和電視廣播有限公司分別擔任記者和節目撰稿員。1980年代初,文教授獲新加坡政府聘用,加盟新加坡廣播局,參與塑造該國傳媒行業的面貌和生態,提高該國在電影電視方面的軟實力,工作範疇包括帶領創作四種民族的娛樂節目內容及培訓創意人才,並負責該公司在台灣的衛星電視頻道業務。2000年,文教授出任新加坡報業傳訊營運總裁,率領開創兩個全新電視頻道,於2002年獲「亞洲電視大獎」選為「年度亞洲廣播電視台」及「年度亞洲地面頻道」。2005年,文教授加入新加坡媒體發展管理局,出任廣播與電影部司長一職,除了促進新加坡電影電視業在本地及國外的發展,也管理公共廣播基金的營運及推動高清電視廣播的試播。2007年,文教授轉任荷里活馬克伯內特製作公司亞洲業務總裁;兩年後重返由新加坡電視機構改組成的新傳媒私人有限公司,成為星霖電影公司的掌舵人,為新加坡、馬來西亞、香港及中國內地市場製作電影及相關的投資活動。文教授於2014年開始於浸大執教。

憑藉其40載實戰經驗,文教授大大提升了浸大電影學院的軟硬件。軟件方面,文教授以其專業知識和經驗,豐富了不少與傳媒管理、電視節目製作及廣播政策相關的課程的內容,又開設了嶄新課程「創作非劇本類真人秀及直線與曲線說故事」。同時,文教授創立了「點子電影工作室」,撮合大學和電影界共同投資電影項目,並邀請業界知名電影人為學生提供專業指導,讓學生在求學時已有機會參與商業電影製作。硬件方面,文教授又推動電影學院成立亞洲高等學府中首個「杜比全景聲製作室」,協助學生利用音效提升作品層次。2018年,浸大電影學院舉辦首屆「全球大學電影奬」,文教授透過其廣泛人脈,以及參與大小影展、媒體節的顧問經驗,襄助活動圓滿舉行,並成功吸引來自全球接近100個國家或地區、超過1,800份作品參賽。

文教授經常獲不同地區的媒體邀請出席業界論壇,並擔任多項公職。他現為香港貿易發展局娛樂業諮詢委員會委員,以及新加坡電影委員會委員。他亦在2013至2019年間擔任新加坡媒體節諮詢委員會委員;2006至2016年間則出任了亞洲電視大奬評審主席。文教授於2007年獲美國娛樂業界歷史悠久的雜誌《Variety》評選為亞洲50名傑出電影領袖之一。

孔憲紹慈善基金有限公司
孔楊邦鏵博士
孔憲紹慈善基金有限公司

「電影電視不只是娛樂,也是一種藝術,融合各種經驗以交流意念和美學,更是記錄創作者所處文化的載物。香港為世界主要的電影及電視節目出口地之一,其電影電視行業位居全球最具規模及最有活力之列。我們期望透過成立此電影電視教授席,襄助浸大電影學院培育人才,為業界注入更多新力量。」

更多詳情
運用故事 連繫人心

運用故事 連繫人心

文樹森教授專訪