Inaugural Kwok Chung Bo Fun PhD Student Research Excellence Awards Ceremony

26 October 2022
 Officiating guests and HKBU representatives posed for a group photo with the awarded PhD students
 Mr. Raymond Kwok gave a speech at the Ceremony

With the support of the Kwok Chung Bo Fun Charitable Fund, HKBU Graduate School established the Kwok Chung Bo Fun PhD Student Research Excellence Awards in 2021 to give recognition and reward to the HKBU PhD students who have achieved excellence in their research and up to seven cash awards are to be presented each year. This year, each Faculty/School was invited to nominate one outstanding PhD student for the Awards.

The Awards Ceremony was held on 26 October 2022, with Mr. Raymond Kwok, representative of the Kwok Chung Bo Fun Charitable Fund, and Professor Alexander Wai, JP, President and Vice-Chancellor, as officiating guests. Mr. Kwok said, “The establishment of the Awards is not just to recognise the PhD students, I also wish to motivate all students to continue their exploration in knowledge seeking and become caring citizens.” This year, Dr. Md Lokman Hossain, a newly graduate of the Department of Geography, Faculty of Social Sciences was awarded the first prize of the inaugural Awards.

The Ceremony was well attended by HKBU representatives including Professor Rick Wong, Interim Provost; Professor Liu Jiming, Associate Vice-President (Research Development) and Dean of the Faculty of Science; Professor Johnny M. Poon, Associate Vice-President (Interdisciplinary Research) and Founding Dean of the School of Creative Arts; Mr. Alfred Sit, GBS, JP, Senior Advisor to PVC and Advisor of the Institute for Innovation, Translation and Policy Research of HKBU; Professor Stuart Christie, Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts; Professor Edward Snape, Dean of the School of Business; Professor Daniel Lai, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences; Professor Ken Yung, Executive Associate Dean of the Graduate School; and Mrs. Lily Chan, Director of University Advancement and Secretary-General of the HKBU Foundation.

For details, please click here.

 (From left) Mr. Alfred Sit, Prof. Daniel Lai, Mr. Raymond Kwok, Prof. Alexander Wai, Prof. Rick Wong, Prof. Ken Yung and Mrs. Lily Chan