HKBU confers honorary doctoral degrees upon four distinguished persons

21 November 2022
 Prof. Anil Kumar Jain (left) and Dr. Olga Nawoja Tokarczuk are conferred their honorary doctoral degrees online
 Dr. Chloe Suen posed a group photo with her family
  Friends of Dr. Chloe Suen extended their warmest congratulations to her

(From left) Prof. Alexander Wai, Dr. Clement Chan, Prof. Timothy John Mitchison, Dr. Chloe Suen, Ir Prof. Paul Poon and Ms. Rosanna Choi

Hong Kong Baptist University conferred honorary doctoral degrees upon four distinguished persons on 21 November 2022 to recognise their outstanding achievements and remarkable contributions to society.

Ms. Chloe Suen, a passionate entrepreneur and philanthropist as well as a dedicated patron and promoter of the arts and culture, was awarded the degree of Doctor of Humanities, honoris causa. She is Chair of the Simon Suen Foundation as well as Co-Chairman of the Young Entrepreneur Committee and Honorary Permanent President of the HKBU Foundation. 

The other recipients were Professor Anil Kumar Jain, a renowned computer scientist, and Professor Timothy John Mitchison, an acclaimed cell biologist and systems biologist, both received the degrees of Doctor of Science, honoris causa; and Dr. Olga Nawoja Tokarczuk, one of Poland’s most celebrated and beloved authors and a Nobel Prize Laureate in Literature, was awarded the degree of Doctor of Letters, honoris causa. For the background information of the four recipients, please click here.

The conferment ceremony was presided by a procession led by Dr. Clement Chen, GBS, JP, Chairman of the Council and the Court. At the ceremony, Professor Alexander Wai, JP, President and Vice-Chancellor, praised the four honorary doctoral degree recipients, and he said that they are role models who have led inspirational lives. “Their stories reveal how they have attained success and contributed to the betterment of society against all odds. We can definitely learn from their extraordinary careers,” he added.

A number of Foundation members and friends of the University attended this joyous occasion to extend their warmest congratulations to the recipients. They were Dr. Simon Suen, BBS, JP; Mrs. Mary Suen and representatives of the SML Group; Ms. Portia Chow; Dr. Vincent Ho, Mr. Lam Cho Kwong; Dr. Elizabeth Law, MH; Professor David Lee, BBS, MH, CStJ, JP; Mr. So Chung Ping, MH; Mrs. Susan So, BBS; Dr. Tang Wai Hung; Mrs. Virginia Yim, MH; Professor Bernard Wu and Mr. Yiu Yu Hung.

HKBU representatives including Ir Prof. Paul Poon, Deputy Chairman, and Ms. Rosanna Choi, Treasurer of the Council and the Court; Professor Rick Wong, Interim Provost; Dr. Albert Chau, Vice-President (Teaching and Learning); and Mrs. Lily Chan, Director of University Advancement and Secretary-General of the HKBU Foundation, also joined the ceremony.