Hong Kong Baptist University Foundation Thanksgiving Reception

17 February 2017
 Prof. Roland Chin delivered his welcome address
 Dr. Wilfred Wong expressed his gratitude to Foundation members for their support
 Foundation Certificates were presented to the Honorary Vice-Presidents;
 Guests officiated at the thanksgiving ceremony in celebration of the 8th Anniversary of the HKBU Foundation

The Thanksgiving Reception of the Hong Kong Baptist University Foundation was held on 17 February 2017 to celebrate the 8th anniversary of the Foundation and to express its heartfelt appreciation to the Foundation members and friends of the University for their ardent support.

In his welcome address, Professor Roland T. Chin, President and Vice-Chancellor, shared with participants the three unique DNAs of HKBU, namely caring and compassion, creativity and innovation, and global vision, and expressed that HKBU will continue to pursue excellence and nurture outstanding talents to contribute to the community.  Professor Chin also thanked members of the Board of Governors of the HKBU Foundation and supporters for their significant contributions to the University’s development over the years.

Dr. Wilfred Wong, GBS, JP, Chairman of the Board of Governors of the HKBU Foundation, commended that the University had raised more than HK$1.2 billion since the Foundation’s inception in 2009.  In addition, the number of Foundation members had increased by more than threefold from 131 to 608.  Dr. Wong thanked all donors for their unswerving support and hoped that the Foundation will continue to flourish and scale new heights of achievement in the years to come.

To express the University’s gratitude to the new Honorary Vice-Presidents, Honorary Directors and Directors of the HKBU Foundation for their generosity, Dr. Wong and Professor Chin presented Foundation Certificates to them at the Reception.

The event was well attended by about 170 guests including members of the Council and the Board of Governors, Foundation members, friends of the University as well as staff and students.  They included Mr. Cheng Yan Kee, BBS, JP, Mr. Andrew Yao, BBS, JP and Mrs. Doreen Chan, Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Treasurer respectively of the Council and the Court; Dr. Joseph Lee, GBS, OStJ, JP, Vice-Chairman of the Board of Governors of the HKBU Foundation; Mr. William Leung, SBS, JP, Chairman of the Alumni Committee; Professor Albert Chan, JP, Dr. Justin Chiu and Dr. Elizabeth Law, MH, members of the Board of Governors; Mrs. Mary Suen and Miss Chloe Suen, Dr. Lee Shiu and Dr. Jennie Lee, Mr. So Chung Ping, MH and other Foundation members; as well as Vice-Presidents, Associate Vice-Presidents and Deans of HKBU.