Dr. Clement C.J. Chen, GBS, JP Chairman of the Council and the Court of HKBU

HKBU is now going full speed ahead with implementing its Strategic Plan 2018-2028. We are deeply appreciative of the many University supporters who fully agree with our vision and have made timely and significant contributions. I refer in particular to Hung Hin Shiu Charitable Foundation Limited, Shiu Pong Enterprises Limited and the Hung family, Lee Shau Kee Foundation Limited, Mr. Lo Siu Tong and the Lo family, Shun Hing Education and Charity Fund Limited, and The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust. With such solid backing and encouragement, we shall do our utmost to enrich our students’ learning experience and produce impactful research that responds to society’s needs.

Professor Guo Yike Vice-President (Research and Development) of HKBU

Reinforcing its existing research strengths in science and humanities, HKBU has established six interdisciplinary research laboratories. They are the Augmented Creativity Laboratory, the Computational Medicine Laboratory, the System Health Laboratory, the Smart Society Laboratory, the Data Economy Laboratory, and the Ethical and Theoretical AI Laboratory. These laboratories will help us break through disciplinary boundaries and foster close engagement between the sciences, arts and social sciences, thereby enabling our researchers to make new discoveries.

Dr. Albert Chau Vice-President (Teaching and Learning) of HKBU

In response to the severe impact of the coronavirus outbreak and a bleak economic outlook, HKBU launched Project SEED to strengthen students’ generic abilities and to subsidise needy students to pursue various learning activities. The aim is to enhance their personal competencies and employability. To assist graduates' job search, the newly created online interactive platform BUHub links up job vacancies of 11 employment websites and opens up more than 30,000 job vacancies and 2,000 internship opportunities.  Moreover, the University has invited veterans of various fields to hold a series of SEED talks to share their insights, thereby facilitating students’ personal and career development. 

Professor Bian Zhaoxiang Associate Vice-President cum Director and Chair Professor of Clinical Division of School of Chinese Medicine of HKBU

Under the leadership of HKBU, the project entitled the “Strategic Plan for Intellectual Asset Protection of Traditional Chinese Medicine” consolidates the research strengths of top-tier Chinese medicine research institutes in Hong Kong and Mainland China in order to conduct advanced research into the application of Chinese medicine in treating inflammation, cancer and viral diseases as well as the technologies for processing Chinese medicines.  Thanks to the support of Pecan Foundation Limited, the project has made impressive progress with an increasing number of patent applications filed, which in turn has fostered the development of modernised Chinese medicines and related products.  The project preserves the quintessence of traditional Chinese medicine, and at the same time promotes the modernisation and internationalisation of the industry. 

Professor Huang Yu Associate Vice-President and Dean of Communication of HKBU

The School of Communication strives to nurture all-round communication professionals for the betterment of the community not just in Hong Kong, but also in Mainland China and the world at large.  With the generous support of Lam Woo Foundation Limited, the School has successfully established the Senior Reporters-in-Residence Scheme.  Under the Scheme, veteran journalists from Hong Kong and around the world such as winners of the Pulitzer Prize or members of the HKBU-Society of Publishers In Asia are brought together on the HKBU Campus annually to share their views and inspire our students and academics with their insightful wisdom.  The Scheme has enriched the contents and perspectives of journalism education in Hong Kong, thereby fostering the sustainable development of the profession. 

Professor Lyu Aiping Dean of Chinese Medicine of HKBU and Director of the Law Sau Fai Institute for Advancing Translational Medicine in Bone & Joint Diseases

Osteosarcoma is a common primary malignant bone tumour afflicting children and adolescents. Thanks to Mr. Law Sau Fai’s generous support, our team has succeeded in developing an innovative targeted delivery system for treating the disease. In the experiments using a mouse model, the malignancy is effectively inhibited. We will proceed to apply this finding to tumour treatment.

Pages

陳鎮仁博士,GBS,JP 香港浸會大學校董會暨諮議會主席

香港浸會大學正全速推行策略發展計劃2018-2028,我們衷心感激多位大學支持者的認同及慷慨支持,並特別感謝孔憲紹慈善基金有限公司、紹邦企業有限公司及孔氏家族、李兆基基金有限公司、羅肇唐先生及羅氏家族、信興教育及慈善基金有限公司及香港賽馬會慈善信託基金的鼎力襄助。我們定必竭盡所能,致力豐富學生的學習體驗,並創造可回應社會需要的研究,貢獻世界。

郭毅可教授 香港浸會大學副校長(研究及拓展)

浸大發揮其科學與人文研究的綜合優勢,成立了六所跨學科研究實驗室,包括創造性智能實驗室、計算醫藥學實驗室、系統健康研究實驗室、智能社會實驗室、數據經濟實驗室,以及人工智能倫理與理論實驗室。這些實驗室可助我們打破學科的界限,緊密聯繫科學、藝術、人文和社會科學,開拓更多尖端、嶄新的跨領域研究。

周偉立博士 香港浸會大學副校長(教與學)

面對疫情及經濟前景暗淡,浸大推出SEED計劃提升學生能力,又資助有需要學生參與學習活動,增強他們的個人素養和協助求職擇業。大學新成立了BUhub網上互動平台,連結11個求職網站的資料,為畢業生提供約30,000個職位空缺及2,000個實習機會。大學又舉辦一系列SEED講座,邀請各行各業的精英分享真知灼見,助學生好好裝備自己,達至更佳的個人及事業發展。

卞兆祥教授 香港浸會大學協理副校長兼中醫藥學院臨床部主任及講座教授

由浸大牽頭推行的「中藥藥效組分知識產權保護戰略」計劃,匯聚了中港頂級中醫藥研究機構的科研力量,針對炎症、腫瘤、病毒性疾病等傳統中藥藥效及相關技術進行深層次研究。計劃在眾富基金會的支持下,申請專利的中藥數量不斷增加,讓傳統中藥轉化成現代中藥及其原料產品,傳承中華民族醫藥精髓,推動中藥業邁向現代化和國際化。

黃煜教授 香港浸會大學協理副校長兼傳理學院院長

傳理學院致力培育全面的傳播專才,畢業生發展的地域並不囿於本地,而是放眼於大中華地區以至全球。厚蒙林護紀念基金有限公司的支持,促使學院成功推行資深記者駐校計劃,每年邀請本地及海外資深記者如普立茲新聞獎得主、或香港浸會大學──亞洲出版業協會卓越新聞獎得主與校內師生分享經驗及交流心得。透過他們的啟蒙,豐富了本地新聞教育的內容及角度,從而促進新聞專業的持續發展。

呂愛平教授 香港浸會大學中醫藥學院院長兼羅守輝骨與關節疾病轉化醫學研究所所長

骨肉瘤是兒童及青少年常見的原發性惡性骨腫瘤。感謝羅守輝先生的慷慨支持,我們已成功研發在體靶向骨肉瘤基因編輯遞送系統,並在小鼠實驗中有效抑制腫瘤惡化,有望應用於臨床治療。

Pages