Objectives

The Hong Kong Baptist University Foundation is committed to:

  • further enhancing the concept of endowment to the University;
  • broadening the University's support base and strengthening relationships with donors;
  • formulating strategies to strengthen the fundraising capabilities of the University.

Use of Funds

The University has formulated Vision 2020, a comprehensive blueprint that charts HKBU's development over the current decade. Through the implementation of the three strategic focuses, namely Quality Teaching and Learning, Innovative Research, and Community Engagement, HKBU pledges to become the regional leader in Whole Person Education to deliver academic excellence and innovation. The Foundation's focus is in complete accordance with the University's vision, sustaining all funding sources for the following initiatives:

Teaching and Learning
  • To improve teaching and learning quality for the further enhancement of our provision of Whole Person Education and to provide best value-addedness to HKBU students through an excellent teaching and learning environment.
Academic Research
  • To promote a research culture that sharpens research performance and to establish a critical mass of research talent for the promotion of interdisciplinary research.
Campus Development
  • To upgrade the campus facilities to create superlative teaching, research and learning environments that stimulate creativity in all fields.
Student Scholarships/Bursaries
  • To provide scholarships and bursaries to finance the studies of students and to offer them overseas exchange opportunities to widen their horizons.
Internationalisation
  • To promote an enhanced international environment on campus and to welcome world-renowned scholars to the University for fruitful and enlightening academic exchange.
Community Service
  • To take the leading role in serving community needs with HKBU's strengths and to integrate research outputs into community service through effective knowledge transfer activities.


Reasons for Giving

Hong Kong Baptist University is one of the publicly funded local tertiary institutions. However, government subventions account for only 40% of the University's income. We therefore require substantial private funding to sustain the University's development in all spheres. Donations are an important source of additional income and are vital for the institutional advancement of HKBU.
HKBU is currently at the peak stage of development, requiring enormous financial support. In order to address the evolving needs arising from the 4-year undergraduate curriculum and to enhance academic research capabilities, the University has recorded a double-digit increase in expenditure on teaching and research activities in recent years. The expenditure on academic support services and the Campus Master Plan has also risen tremendously. 
Appointed by the University's Council, in conjunction with the President and Vice-Chancellor, the Board of Governors is responsible for the management of the Foundation to ensure that it consistently supports the University's advancement projects. The Board of Governors comprises community leaders and professionals who are devoted to education. The Board will convene meetings at regular intervals to offer advice on the formulation of fundraising strategies and the extension of the University's support base, and to monitor the operations and financial status of the Foundation.
The funds raised through the Foundation are managed and invested by the University administration. Financial reports will be provided to the Board of Governors by the Director of Finance. The Foundation always abides by the principle of financial prudence to ensure stable investment income for the University and a healthy financial position of the Foundation funds.
Hong Kong Baptist University is deeply grateful to all donors for their generous support to the University and is committed to treating donors and prospective donors with the highest level of care, respect, honesty and openness. The Donor Charter provides an assurance to our donors in relation to the integrity, accountability and transparency of the University's fundraising activities.
Hong Kong Baptist University is one of the approved charitable institutions exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance. Donors can claim tax deduction for the approved charitable donations of HK$100 or more up to 35% of the assessable income or profits, as the case may be, in the basis period of a year of assessment. For details, please refer to the website of the Inland Revenue Department.

目標

香港浸會大學基金致力:

  • 推動社會各界人士捐獻支持浸大發展;
  • 拓闊大學的社會網絡,維繫與捐款人關係;
  • 制定籌款策略,加強大學的籌款能力。

經費用途

香港浸會大學已制定發展藍圖《2020年願景》,訂明以「高質素教與學」、「創新研究」及「社區互連」三大策略發展重點,把浸大發展成為亞洲區內提供全人教育的領袖學府,於學術上表現卓越,力求創新。香港浸會大學基金亦相應配合,基金的經費將用作支持以下活動,以推動實現大學願景:

教與學
  • 全面提升教與學質素,強化全人教育;透過卓越的教與學環境,為浸大學生帶來最佳的增值條件。
學術研究
  • 提倡研究文化,提升浸大的研究成績;薈萃研究人才,推動跨學科和主題研究。
校園發展
  • 提升校園設施,締造啟發創意的教研及學習環境。
獎助學金
  • 提供學生獎學金及助學金,資助學生順利完成學業或到海外交流,擴闊視野。
校園國際化
  • 進一步推廣校園國際化,並邀請國際知名學者到大學作學術交流。
社會服務
  • 善用浸大優勢,在服務社會上擔當領導角色;推動有效的知識轉移,將研究成果結合社區服務,惠及社會。


捐獻理由

香港浸會大學為本地其中一所獲政府資助的高等院校,然而政府撥款只佔大學收入的四成,為推動大學各項發展,亟需額外的經費。捐款是大學額外收入的重要來源,對推動大學發展不可或缺。
大學近年正處於發展高峰期,為應付四年學制下大增的教學需求以及增強大學的科研實力,用於教學及研究活動的開支錄得雙位數增長,而用於教學支援方面的開支亦大幅上升,加上大學正持續擴建校園,各項發展均需要龐大經費支持。
香港浸會大學基金的運作由浸大校董會聯同校長委任的董事局監管,並以大學的發展為依歸。董事局成員乃各界熱心教育的社會賢達或專業人士,董事局會定期舉行會議,就制定策略性籌款方案及拓闊大學社會網絡方面提供寶貴意見,以及監管基金的運作及財務狀況。
香港浸會大學基金籌得的資金交由浸大行政部門負責管理及投資,浸大財務長負責向董事局提交財務報告。我們一向恪守審慎理財的原則,為大學提供穩健的投資收入及充裕的資金。
香港浸會大學由衷感謝各界熱心人士的慷慨支持,並以最謹慎、尊重、坦誠及公開的態度,善待每一位捐款人。為確保浸大在籌款工作上的誠信、問責性及透明度,大學已制定《捐款人約章》向大學捐款人作出承諾。
根據本港《稅務條例》第88條,香港浸會大學為獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構之一。凡捐款總額達一百元或以上,可在課稅年度申請認可慈善捐款扣稅,總額最高可達應評稅入息或利潤的35%(視乎何種情況而定)。有關詳情,請瀏覽稅務局網頁