Election Meeting cum First Meeting of the Board of Governors 2021-23 of the HKBU Foundation

24 February 2021
 (Front row from left) Dr. Elizabeth Law, Ms. Rosanna Choi, Prof. Justin Chiu, Dr. Ronald Lu, Dr. Clement Chen, Dr. Kennedy Wong, Prof. Alexander Wai, Dr. Simon Suen, Dr. David Mong and Mrs. Susan So
(Back row from left) Mr. Edmund Li, Mrs. Lily Chan, Mr. Raymond Kwok, Mr. Billy Hung, Prof. William Leung, Mr. Philip Tsai, Prof. Eric Li and Dr. Melanie Lee

The Election Meeting cum First Meeting of the Board of Governors 2021-23 of the HKBU Foundation was held on 24 February 2021.

At the Election Meeting, members agreed unanimously that Dr. Kennedy Wong, BBS, JP, will be the Chairman of the Foundation. It was also agreed that Professor Justin Chiu, Dr. Ronald Lu and Ir Dr. K.K. Wong, GBS, JP, FHKEng, will be the Vice-Chairmen, and Ms. Rosanna Choi the Treasurer. Furthermore, 19 members and ex-officio members of the previous term remain in office, with Mr. Francis Law as a new member.

Dr. Simon Suen, BBS, JP, and Ir Dr. K.K. Wong have been reappointed as Co-Chairmen of the Entrepreneur Committee under the Board of the Governors of the Foundation. Ms. Chloe Suen and Mr. Ivan Wong serve as Co-Chairmen of the Young Entrepreneur Committee. Professor Sunny Wong has been re-appointed as Chairman of the Alumni Committee. A number of distinguished entrepreneurs, young entrepreneurs and alumni have also been invited to join the three Committees.  

Presided by Dr. Kennedy Wong, the newly elected Chairman, the First Meeting of the Board of Governors was held to review and exchange views on the Foundation’s fundraising strategies and financial status. Professor Ping-kong Alexander Wai, President and Vice-Chancellor, also shared HKBU’s latest developments with the members. He emphasised that the Greater Bay Area will be the strategic direction of the University.

All the appointments of Board and Committee Members have a term of three years until the end of 2023. For the membership of the Board of Governors 2021-23, please click here.

 Dr. Wilfred Wong and Dr. Liu Chak Wan joined the meetings online from Macau